Defold game engine in the eyes of a hobbyist.(Feedback)

Hello all, my name is George and I’m studying Computer Science at a university. I’m not an experienced game developer nor I try to be one.

I just like to make games on my free time learning new languages, engines, frameworks, tools and more. I find it very easy to learn a programming language by making games.

So 2 weeks ago I started learning Lua. And I came across Love and Defold. I always prefer to start with simple frameworks rather than game engines but this time I went the other way around just for an experiment.

Even though I’m using Defold for 2 weeks only(well one and a half since I spend 3 days learning the basics of Lua by making simple terminal programs), I wanted to say my opinion on Defold.

I have used some frameworks and game engines in the past and I will be comparing them a lot with Defold but I’m not comparing them to see which game engine is the best.
I’m just trying to give feedback to the awesome Devs of Defold through my experience with other engines/frameworks.

For reference here are the game engines and frameworks I used in the past:
Frameworks: Raylib-cpp, Cocos2d-x(cpp), MonoGame, DragonRuby Game Toolkit.
Engines: Godot, CocosCreator, Unity(for 5 days).

Note: This is a long thread so if you want a TLDR just read everything that is BOLD.

So let’s start, I will have 4 sections: Engine, Website Structure, Tutorials and Community.

Section One: Engine

1. One of the best features of Defold is that it is not locked under a certain OS. I use Linux for the University and in general for learning new things. Having the ability to have this awesome game engine on my machine feels great.
    CocosCreator for example even though fun for learning Typescript it is locked under Windows(and I think Mac) and the devs have confirmed that they will not port it to Linux.