Background not showing and actor starting position not centered (SOLVED)

Hi all, I am new to Defold and have been practicing with the default demo which has the logo.

I created a separate collection for background so the movement script does not also move the background.

When I run the game

• first the background does not show

• second the logo starts at the bottom left edge even though I placed it in middle

How can I fix these 2 things.

function init(self)
	msg.post(".", "acquire_input_focus")

self.position = go.get_position()
	self.target_position = go.get_position()
end

function update(self, dt)
	self.position = vmath.lerp(0.2, self.position, self.target_position)
	go.set_position(self.position)
end

function on_input(self, action_id, action)
	if action_id == hash("click") and action.pressed then
		self.target_position.x = action.x
		self.target_position.y = action.y		
	end
end

Thanks

Do you have any rotation on any of the game objects? What are their Z values?

It loks like the logo is at position 0,0 (where the green and red axis meet). That is the lower left corner in runtime. The background is probably on a Z value outside of the -1 to 1 range.

Thanks for reply

Background is on -1 Z value while logo is 0 Z value

Ok, check the position of the sprite in the game object too. If the game object is at Z -1 and the sprite at Z -1 then the final position will be Z -2.

3 Likes

Both game object and sprite are at Z 0. Maybe am not getting something right. See current config for all objects and the final result:

background object / sprite property both have X 0, Y 0, Z 0 axis

Logo object and sprite property both have X 0, Y 0, Z 0 axis

But see result when I run game, both background and sprite are appearing from bottom left