Welcome to the bikiniverse!

It’s about time I did a dev diary as it would be useful for me to keep track of the project and be able to see my progress a little more clearly. Although I do worry about the number of dev diaries i see with a total of one entry…

I started playing with a programme that i think was called Game Maker in about 2001 (the icon was a red ball). One of the first things I did was create a top down character that could move in four directions (after “hello world”, I think that is the first thing everybody does…) and, after playing around for a little while, I discovered a fun mechanism, where you control two top-down characters at the same time. Then nothing happened for a long time. And about two years ago I started working with Stencyl, in order to bring my idea to life (my band had recently broken up). And that’s when I made the first version of Welcome to the Bikiniverse!

http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/35569

The game works and is basically finished, but I had a lot of trouble making the graphics look nice and lost faith in the programme “stencyl” a little bit… and it was when i started looking for alternative software that i found defold.

I’ve been with defold for almost three weeks, (mostly inspired by the competition), and I’ve started working with a graphic designer as well in order to get it looking more professional. I’ve never done any coding before so I am asking for a lot of help (…thanks everyone).

So far I have:

1. Firstly and foremostly, a hard-working and foolproof movement system for the two characters. Synchronised, grid-based movement was a really interesting programming challenge and I’d be curious to see how other people would tackle it. It only uses triggers for collisions.
  2. A working menu and level select screen, which you can scroll around, and in general looks neat.

…and that’s it. It seemed like more before I wrote it down. Next on my list I have to