Use tiles as special triggers / positions cues (SOLVED)

Hi!
I’m trying to make a simple platform game.

I was wondering…
It is possible to tag or identify special tiles and use them into the code?
It is also possible to set a collision group in a tile source to a trigger type of collision?

I my case I want to be able to set some special invisible tiles for indicate the start position of the player in the level and an end of the level insivisible trigger.

Actually for implementing the trigger in the level collection I have created another parallel tilemap with a custom collisionobject set to trigger, but it is not very handy because you lose the level architecture reference.

There is any solution?
How would you implement this case?

Sorry I’m a little noob in game development and with Defold!
Thank you so much! :slight_smile:

Yes, a simple solution is to use a Lua table like this:
local metadata = { [tile_position] = { metadata_1 = <value>, ... }, ... }
When the player collides with a tile whose position is in this metadata table, you can pull the data from the table and interpret it however you wish.

Here’s another explanation from a while back: Any way to add metadata to tiles in the tilemap editor?

2 Likes

Thank you klaytonkowalski!
But, if I understood well, this solution require to place some graphical tile on the tilemap and code a behavior in the background based on a fixed tile position.

But what if the position of the tile change?

I was imagining that if I need to split the work with maybe a level designer… I want to build basic levels building blocks and let him free to experiment.
It is actually possible to code a logic based on a particolar type of tile present in the tilemap?
Maybe with some plugin?

I would create an extra layer in the tilemap and read that when the level/map is loaded. I would clear the tiles in that layer as I read them and based on the content I’d create game objects of the required type.

4 Likes

Thank you britzl!