Learning 3d dev in Defold (SOLVED)

Hey guys.
I started learning 3D in Defold today, and I must admit that it was a fun experience.
However, I as I always do, I have some questions about using 3d in Defold :wink:

• Having multiple meshes in one scene - @sven helped me solve it here
  • But, those merged multiple meshes donā€™t have textures - again, @sven said to

ā€œEnsure UV Maps are named the same prior to merge (unless you want the UV Maps to remain separate) then combineā€

How do I do this? (honestly, I opened blender for the first time today :crazy_face:)

ALERT!! - More questions are on their way :smile:

4 Likes

Excellent questions! Iā€™d love to get some input here and use as basis for a new manual page.

2 Likes

More of a Blender question than anything Defold-related really.

I messed around with the collada version a bit and couldnā€™t figure out why it wasnā€™t working. Then I tried importing the OBJ version into blender --> selected them all --> join --> export collada --> boom, it just works. (It even exported to have the right rotation in Defold on the first try!)

Oh, I spoke too soon. Importing the collada works fine, you just have to rename the UV maps. Somehow I couldnā€™t figure out how to double-click before. :blush: You can find the UV maps in the ā€œobject dataā€ tab (the little triangle mesh icon thingy) in the properties pane. Then you just double-click to start renaming them. If you name them all the same before joining then it works.

3 Likes

If youā€™re new to Blender, one tip: you can press space and start typing to search for commands, so you donā€™t have to remember the hotkeys for everything.

3 Likes

Yayy!!! :partying_face: Got it working exactly as I wanted :muscle:.

But I am not over yet, thereā€™s still a couple of things I want to know :