Issue with Defold [Linux/Manjaro] (SOLVED)

Hello!

I wanted to give Defold a go as I’m studying Lua to do some game dev (not so quiet confident with frameworks so engine sounds best at this point.) I’m running Defold on my Manjaro linux laptop and I’m having issue opening any .collection or editor itself with this error showing up - https://i.imgur.com/dh9LIPR.png

java.lang.ClassCastException: class jogamp.opengl.es1.GLES1Impl cannot be cast to class com.jogamp.opengl.GL2ES2 (jogamp.opengl.es1.GLES1Impl and com.jogamp.opengl.GL2ES2 are in unnamed module of loader 'app')

I apologise if written in wrong category, I couldn’t find any fix on this and I wasn’t sure where to post this.
Thank you!

Yes, it’s not always easy to get things working on Linux (our supported version Is Ubuntu 18 currently).
We have a small F.A.Q for the most common issues, and I’m thinking the part with the MESA version might help:

$ export MESA_GL_VERSION_OVERRIDE=3.1
$ ./Defold

Perhaps that might help?

2 Likes

I had the same issue on AMD Radeon card on Linux Mint, it happened after I tried to install OIBAF drivers.
See if you can update/fix graphics drivers safely somehow. In my case I had to reinstall OS :confused:

Good luck and godspeed!

1 Like

Thank you for your reply (and @Dzuvan)
Sadly neither of them worked, which is a shame because I was hoping to have it work on my Linux device. But with it I think it’s time to go back to Win due to few issues my laptop is having enough as it is with Linux (oddly enough, never had those issues but that’s off topic)

1 Like

I have to bump this :confused:

Recently I started getting this error again. Everything was working and one day it stopped.
Issue is happening on Linux Mint 20 and PopOS both of which are clean installs.

Mesa driver export didn’t help.

When did it stop working? We recently updated Cljfx https://github.com/defold/defold/pull/4926

@vlaaad, could this be related?

I think somewhere between 4 and 7 days ago.