I don't really know where to begin with certain data types?

The game I’m creating is a 2D platformer RPG - taking heavy inspiration from games like the Mega Man Zero titles, Mega Man ZX titles, Wuppo, Hollow Knight, etc. with my intended focus being equally on story and solid mechanics.

Getting the platforming mechanics to behave the way I want them and with a somewhat scalable data structure has been as much as a challenge as I expected, but now that I am getting to the point where I need to think about how to handle things that aren’t necessarily relevant at all times during gameplay like dialogue, inventory, questlines, and how the story progression affects the world - the more I think about it the more daunting of a task it seems to be.

I’m completely self-taught and while there’s plenty of material about how to get the more action-oriented functions (like moving and combat) working in a game available on the internet, I’m finding it’s much harder to find reading material about how to properly handle things like dialogue across NPC’s and how to the store the story progression or track objectives, etc.

The most I could find is some people saying, “You should store the dialogue in an external file in JSON or XML and pull the data from there during gameplay,” or “Use a database,” But that seems like the obvious part of the approach and it’s hard to build a battle plan without at least having some examples of how it could be implemented or has been implemented in other games.

Does anyone know where I can find such resources, or have any knowledge in this area? Or any Defold specific tricks I should know regarding possible solutions?

1 Like

Hello Rocamocha,

I have a few resources that might be helpful to you. Firstly a video from youtuber Game Endeavor (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qh3U2cbH8DM&t=2s) which talks about how he went about dialog, which I found very informative. Although he uses Godot, not Defold.

Next there is a few Defold resources: