Fixed-width Rendercam on Mobile

Hi everyone,

I tried to use Rendercam but Fixed-width mode doesn’t work as I expected on mobile.
This is the set up:

The background’s width is almost the same with the screen’s width (I added the Gui go to visualize the size). I expect it will stay that way when I resize the windows. And it did on desktop:

But on my phone the background’s width doesn’t as large as the screen’s width:

(Screen shot of my phone)

Anyone has any idea why and how to fix it?
Thanks!

I have no experience working with RenderCam I’m afraid, but maybe @ross.grams knows?

2 Likes

Sorry, went AWOL for a couple days. Hmm, could be a bug. Is this when you run it on the phone from the editor, or if you bundle and install it on the phone? Can you send me your test project? (zipping the project files and uploading to the forum is easiest.)

1 Like

Both of them!

This is it: TestRenderCam.zip (4.0 MB)

I’m still trying to figure out exactly why it’s behaving different on mobile than on desktop, but I think if, on your camera, you check “Use View Area”, and set the “View Area” X to the width you want, then it will behave the way you want.

[Edit] If you don’t check that, then the camera uses the current width of the window, which I guess in your case is smaller than the display width that you have set in your game.project (640)? That explains why it’s different on mobile (at least that’s what happens on my test phone).

Hello Ross,

Thanks for the response!

I did what you suggested here, but isn’t that if I choose “Use View Area”, then the camera will always show the same width regardless the screen’s size? Because what I want is to have the game shown like “Fixed width” on desktop version, the game’s width is always the same as the window’s width.