DRM Using Lua (SOLVED)

I am a mobile 2d game developer coming from a Godot background .

I liked the way Defold becomes fully open-sourced.

My Main Question Is :

I sell My games Source Code , in Godot using C# when i finish a project and i want to sell the source code, i make a C# library for it (DRM) and some encryption so i can limit the use of the source code to only the one who buy it .
i know that it is hard to change a library .dll file in C# .

How Can I do Something like this in Defold with Lua ?

1 Like

You would probably want to make a native extension with some binaries which have functions that are relied on to run the game, enough that it would not be trivial to remove and rewrite those parts, so probably a large portion of your game code or something essential to your game. You would need to make a version of the binary for each platform you want for those who buy a license to be able to release on.

3 Likes

Eventually now that the source is available you could add some encryption/decryption logic to Defold to be able to run encrypted Lua files like many developers do with other engines. If you turn that into a native plugin and sell it with your code, it may work.

1 Like

How do you put DRM on source code? Source code is text and can only be protected via license.

Perhaps you mean you share functionality with others in the form of a compiled library? Lua isn’t compiled so must be shared in its source form, so cannot be protected with DRM. However this is not a problem as DRM is easily broken and is ultimately just a waste of resources. I don’t think you should let this get in the way of adopting Defold.

can i access to the native library from the Lua code , for example changing a variable value or something .

Check out this documentation on building extensions which includes some demo code showing how it is used from lua.

2 Likes