Physics - Resolving kinematic collisions (SOLVED)

Hello,

I’m still studying the runner tutorial.

I’ve copied/pasted a bit quickly the collision part, and now i’m returning on it.

The handle_geometry_contact function gave me a hard time.

local function handle_geometry_contact(self, normal, distance)
    -- project the correction vector onto the contact normal
    -- (the correction vector is the 0-vector for the first contact point)
    local proj = vmath.dot(self.correction, normal)
    -- calculate the compensation we need to make for this contact point
    local comp = (distance - proj) * normal
    -- add it to the correction vector
    self.correction = self.correction + comp
    -- apply the compensation to the player character
    go.set_position(go.get_position() + comp)
    -- check if the normal points enough up to consider the player standing on the ground
    -- (0.7 is roughly equal to 45 degrees deviation from pure vertical direction)
    if normal.y > 0.7 then
        self.ground_contact = true
    end
    -- project the velocity onto the normal
    proj = vmath.dot(self.velocity, normal)
    -- if the projection is negative, it means that some of the velocity points towards the contact point
    if proj < 0 then
        -- remove that component in that case
        self.velocity = self.velocity - proj * normal
    end
end

The problem is i don’t understand this function.
For setting the context: I have very poor knowledge in math in general, including geometry.
I know Pythagoras theorem, the trigonometric circle, what is a vector and basic operations with them (matrix transformations, length, dot and vectorial product).

For example, in the code above, i don’t know what is a «0 vector» (for me , it’s … a point).
I understand that it’s a question of computing an angle between two colliding objects (the dot product), but then i’m lost. Is the normal.y test is for testing a fall from a platform ?